Reviews

"I’d like to say how pleased I am with the sonics of these mats. I have to confess that originally I purchased the mat just for the cool factor and frankly hoped that it might not result in a loss of sonics - but I’ve found that this mat performs the best of several different options I’ve tried on my VPI Classic. I experimented with 1) LP placed directly on the 20lb aluminum platter, 2) LP onto a Funk 5mm Achromat, 3) LP onto the stock VPI mat and 4) the Mooo mat. The Mooo mat was the BEST all around performer - taking into account detail (without turning into brittleness), sound stage, warmth/weight, and energy. This mat exceeds my hopes when purchased and I’m very pleased. It’s on my platter permanently now full time. Oh, and as you suggested the Cure Entreat album (Rhino pressing) is a great one. BIG sound, and a great listen. Thank you for that recommendation!"

     James, San Diego

"In reviewing the Spec, I found the hirsute Mooo Mat an indispensable  accessory for my Kuzma Stabi turntable. When I laid LP’s on my usual record mat – Music Hall’s Aztec Blue – the Spec’s sound could be small, and lack the low end fundamentals it had with the Mooo Mat atop my Kuzma pipe bomb."

     Stereophile Magazine Review March 2016

 

"The music sounded great—clear, bold, and beautiful. The little breath that singer Shara Worden takes before the first words of "You Will Return,"

"The music sounded great—clear, bold, and beautiful. The little breath that singer Shara Worden takes before the first words of "You Will Return," from David Lang's heartrending Death Speaks (LP, Cantaloupe Music CA21092LP), was more obvious and lovelier than it had been before, and violinist Owen Pallett and guitarist Bryce Dessner seemed to pluck and strum their instruments' strings with more force and feeling."

     Stereophile Magazine Review May 2014

 

"I tried a very pretty, brown-and-white (Ms. Little calls it "cognac and cream") Mooo Mat on the VPI Traveler, and though it was slightly thicker than the Traveler's stock mat, it didn't necessitate an adjustment of the Traveler tonearm's vertical tracking angle (VTA)."

     Stereophile Magazine Review May 2014

 

" It's a fun, attractive, great-sounding tweak. If that suits you, go for it."

     Stereophile Magazine Review May 2014

 

Read the complete Stereophile Review here: http://www.stereophile.com/content/entry-level-41

 

 Mooo Mats versus a $400 carbon fiber mat

"We used two different Mooo Mats testing one on our old J.A. Michell Gyrodec, and the other on our 
new Zorin audio designed turntable. The importance of this test was the J.A. Michell is a “Floating 
Suspension” table, where the Zorin is a “Solid Suspension” table in which both react very differently to 
several factors when it comes down to adjustments or materials.
Immediately dropping the cowhide on the platter vs. the carbon fiber it was apparent that this product 
really made music reproduction “More Musical” on both turntables in this case. Was it more organic? 
The most interesting effect that we noted was enhanced highs and midrange with more detail, and 
extension. In theory this was the opposite you would expect adding a thicker, and more damped 
material such as cork backed cowhide."
      Zorin Audio (importer of high end turntables) review May 2014
      

from David Lang's heartrending Death Speaks (LP, Cantaloupe Music CA21092LP), was more obvious and lovelier than it had been before, and violinist Owen Pallett and guitarist Bryce Dessner seemed to pluck and strum their instruments' strings with more force and feeling."

     Stereophile Magazine Review May 2014

 

"I tried a very pretty, brown-and-white (Ms. Little calls it "cognac and cream") Mooo Mat on the VPI Traveler, and though it was slightly thicker than the Traveler's stock mat, it didn't necessitate an adjustment of the Traveler tonearm's vertical tracking angle (VTA)."

     Stereophile Magazine Review May 2014

 

" It's a fun, attractive, great-sounding tweak. If that suits you, go for it."

     Stereophile Magazine Review May 2014

 

Read the complete Stereophile Review here: http://www.stereophile.com/content/entry-level-41

 

 

"We used two different Mooo Mats testing one on our old J.A. Michell Gyrodec, and the other on our 
new Zorin audio designed turntable. The importance of this test was the J.A. Michell is a “Floating 
Suspension” table, where the Zorin is a “Solid Suspension” table in which both react very differently to 
several factors when it comes down to adjustments or materials.
Immediately dropping the cowhide on the platter vs. the carbon fiber it was apparent that this product 
really made music reproduction “More Musical” on both turntables in this case. Was it more organic? 
The most interesting effect that we noted was enhanced highs and midrange with more detail, and 
extension. In theory this was the opposite you would expect adding a thicker, and more damped 
material such as cork backed cowhide."
      Zorin Audio (importer of high end turntables) review May 2014
      

Follow Us On Instagram